I hope the viewer understands the deeper meaning of the photo. My goal was to communicate the parallel between Kevin Durant, a successful professional basketball player, and Saint Peter who was one of Jesus’ apostles. Saint Peter betrayed Jesus, denying his relationship with the soldier who questioned him which he later regretted and is depicted as crying about in a painting by Bartolomé Esteban Murillo. Which I used as my template to photoshop Kevin Durant’s face onto, who is infamous for betraying the NBA team that drafted him. He left his team to go to the Golden State Warriors who beat them in the conference finals the year before. I wanted the viewer to get the sense that Kevin Durant is now regretting his decision because of all the hate he received and the guilt he feels, just like Saint Peter is. My piece is making the statement that betrayal is common in human culture, usually stemming from the intrinsic human need to protect themselves no matter what. I chose these images because Kevin Durant is one of my favorite basketball players, and I felt that he portrayed Saint Peter very well. If you are looking to create a composite image in photoshop, be sure that it is something you are passionate about and can relate to. That way it is easier to find images you are looking for, and it makes the work a lot easier and rewarding if you enjoy it.

 

One thought on “Betrayal is Timeless

  1. I really like the parallel that you made between KD and Saint Peter. I feel as though he betrayed OKC and you are absolutely right about him regretting it somewhat. I really like that you used the NBA for your Cretu and it fits well for the image.
    Something that could be better is the connection with KD and his neck. I feel as though it was a rough intersection and maybe smoothing it out a bit more would have been better. The hands were very good in matching his skin and everything matched up well but watch out for the neck.
    Something to make your work better would be to find an image that matches the angle of the painting a bit better. While the expression was spot on, I searched up the original image and it didn’t exactly match up. Another thing to improve would be to improve the joining of KD’s neck with Saint Peter’s neck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *