Cavalero Field at Oratory Prepatory
Tito’s Burritos in Summit

I decided to use cheez its in the first photo, because I felt it would cover the eyes of the subject well. It gives an interesting feeling as you can’t see the eyes of the model, which is typically where you would look in a photo, because they have been replaced by cheez its which you are drawn to. For the second photo it wasn’t exactly intended for the subject to be eating specifically french fries, but I caught him eating at the right moment. I feel the amount of french fries the subject has in his mouth displays immense hunger.

The first photo, the cheez its photo, utilizes the natural light from the sun. The sun gives the photo a more natural and genuine feeling, but it also makes the photo a slightly gloomy because the sun is giving half of the subject’s face a large shadow. The second photo is exposed to light from the ceiling lights in Tito’s Burritos. It gives the photo a simpler mood and brighter atmosphere.

I used fill the frame and symmetry on the first photo. I believe it gives the photo a more focused feeling and doesn’t distract from the subject and his missing eyes which have been replaced by cheez its. In the second photo I used the rule of thirds. Although there is a lot going on in the photo, you are still drawn to the food because of the way it has been cropped and edited.

The color splash technique draws the attention of the audience specifically to the area that has color, because everything surrounding it is black and white. This certainly works for any photo and gives it more focus, no matter how complex or intricate the photo. The color splash gives my first photo a creepy feeling because the subject’s eyes are gone and he displays an uneasy smile, without color splash it would be more fun and playful. The color splash technique gives my second photo more focus even though there is a lot happening in the background. I chose to mask the cheez its on the eyes to make the audience drawn to the face. I masked the fries in the second photo so the audience sees the large amount of food the subject is stuffing his face with.

I utilized space/depth of field for my first photo. In order to have the audience focused on the eyes of the subject I made sure my photo had a very small depth of field, and had nothing in the background. I believe this gives a very concise and simple feeling to the photo. I utilized the aspect of form in the second photo. The group of fries makes a very chaotic form for the color splash and gives the photo an aggressive feeling, as the man is shoving all these fries into his mouth.

My advice would be to definitely focus on taking a photo that the audience can see the subject having emotions. For example, in my second photo you can clearly see the man struggling to fit in all the french fries but he’s so hungry he doesn’t care. This is an aspect of the photo that I wish I utilized in my other photo. Also remember to take a lot of photos so you have many options to choose from, because I didn’t take very many.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *